Now you see me, now you don’t

I had the longest eye check-up I’ve ever had in my life today.

Not that something was wrong with my eyes. Melinda’s studying optometry, and her class of 8 people needed more than just two people for their check-up assessment, so sure, I said when she asked me if I’d like to be a patient. I went to the optometry building and in a very professional setting, like a proper optometrist, she asked me about my eyes and health conditions in such a serious fashion that I really wanted to laugh the whole time because I’m really not used to her being like that. Afterwards, I had a million things done to me, including having drops of anaesthesia on my eyes. Seconds later my eyes felt like they were bulging out of my sockets. And the purpose of that was because they were going to poke something on my eyes to test pressure (I’m not exactly sure what that it). Which they did.

Halfway during one test, her partner was scribbling some notes about my eyes’ responses and I heard her say, “She has really good-” and I didn’t hear the rest of it because her voice kind of sank. LOL.

Anyway, the whole thing took about two hours, and their supervisor read their reports and told me that I have very healthy eyes; she said that whatever I’m doing now, I should keep doing it…ahh, which includes prolonged hours in front of the laptop, I believe. And when I got home from class tonight, I found that Melinda had stuck a Cadbury chocolate bar on my door. Evil, evil Min. I think it’s a conspiracy to make me gain weight. =)

Upon this writing, I’ve already eaten half of it.

Look, I can’t help it if she guessed correctly that I like the Cadbury Fruit and Nut variety.

And she says I have a massive phoria, and I did notice that whatever that was, it fascinated her and her partner. According to the online medical dictionary, a phoria is the relative directions of the eyes during binocular fixation on a given object in the absence of an adequate fusion stimulus.

Hmm.

One thought on “Now you see me, now you don’t

  1. The eye-pokey thing is for glaucoma, I think. Tests the viscosity of the vitreous humor, and I am ashamed that I had to look that up since “vitreous” is such a cool word it should be burned into my neural pathways, argh.

    It’s impossible to gain weight on campus, I’ve found, since you walk everywhere. I think I gained 10 when I went back home, actually.

    Oh, and that definition of “phoria” makes me go “hmm” as well, in that it does not compute.

Leave a Reply

