Discovery

This is hilarious. I just recently and accidentally discovered that a short blurb I had written on Father’s Day eight months ago had been published by the Philippine Daily Inquirer, one of the top newspapers in the country, for Father’s Day around that time.

Except that the editors took a lot of liberties with my piece and turned my point into completely something else.  I could barely recognize it when I saw it and I wouldn’t have, if my name hadn’t been next to the blurb.

I had actually sent the blurb to the newspaper in response for their call for submissions at that time. But they didn’t get back to me, I was in Beijing then and couldn’t get the newspaper, and seemed like my parents had missed it when it came out.  So I figured it hadn’t made it. Then I found its doppelganger today in the newspaper’s website. Was absolutely stunned when I saw it. And incredibly amused.

2 thoughts on “Discovery

  1. Actually, this might be one of those times where instead of being amused you Hulk out and start throwing trains at them.

    Editors have the right to edit for legality, obscenity, grammar, and length, in that order. Content and message should NOT be altered. Now, a lot of times the whole “you twisted the meaning of my words completely” is objective, but whenever that happens, it’s up to the editor to defend him or herself from that accusation. It’s their forum, but it’s your writing, after all, and certain rights come with that. Also, it hardly counts as reporting the truth if they change the content of it.

    Meh. Call them dorks and be done with it.

  2. Hm. Yeah. I’m just not sure how much I would achieve by writing a complaint to them since the thing was eight months ago, and I was just a blurb among a lot of other blurbs. (I don’t think they’re going to consider publishing an apology for my sake, hehe) I definitely get your point, though.

Leave a Reply

