Dreaming On

I had a weird dream (when is it ever not weird?) this morning, between the moments when the alarm went off and when I had to get up for work. I dreamed that I had woken up today with the horrible feeling that I was late for work. The room was dark and I was fumbling for the clock on the bedside table. I tried to turn the clock light on, but it had ran out of batteries. I tried the same with my watch – no juice either. But I could see the faint shape of the hands and they were going for11AM…which would make me three hours late for work. So I panicked and jumped up and threw the curtains open, wondering why it was so dark.

And it was beautiful outside. It was snowing outside the apartment – in Hong Kong! – and there was a violet aurora borealis going on in the horizon. And there were pine trees (once again – in Hong Kong!) and mounds of white on the floor and so many lights, and the apartment receptionist was puttering around outside, looking completely staggered. And for some reason all my shoes were lined up on the ledge outside my window (which I don’t have in HK – though I did for a semester when I was in Sydney). And the sky kept changing from bright to dark in a matter of seconds.

Best of all, I knew there wasn’t going to be any work because of the snow.

Then I woke up. And had to go to work.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming On

Leave a Reply

