Flying Fists and Frying Pans

Quick plug before I talk about the rest of the HK International Literary Festival…Ray Dean, author of “Fire in the Sky” in Shanghai Steam, the anthology I’m also part of, informs me that Sean Taylor’s blog has hosted the post, Flying Fists and Frying Pans – The Martial Art of Writing, on our views about writing action scenes for the anthology. The following is from my bit:

To be honest, the fight scene I wrote in the story isn’t exactly kung-fu (and I certainly didn’t intend it to be) and isn’t particularly action-y either. It was a pretty simple scene where it’s intended that readers would be able to guess the outcome. I wanted it to have, as a baseline, the slow, exaggerated motions of a Chinese opera fight scene. It’s really more tai chi than kung fu, and the emotions that inform that scene have the same rhythm as well. I live in Hong Kong and there are people practicing tai chi everywhere so it really wasn’t difficult seeing the scene in my head.

~Crystal Koo, author of “The Master and the Guest” in Shanghai Steam. http://swordskill.wordpress.com

The rest here!

Leave a Reply

