The Next Big Thing

Carljoe Javier, writer and English prof in UP, has tagged me in The Next Big Thing, a blog cycle where we ask ten questions from authors whose work we love to read. Massive thanks to Carljoe for getting me to be a part of it  and for telling me he’s enjoyed the stories I’ve written!

1) What is the working title of your next book?

I love how misleading the “next” is. This would only be my first book if things pan out, but as of now, I wouldn’t mind basking in the delusion that I’ve got more books than this. The novel doesn’t have a title yet, but the OneNote folder where all my notes for it are is called All Possible Times. I’m pretty sure I won’t be calling it that though.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

Like all the best ideas, it came from a good base of sleep deprivation and shot through with an overdose of caffeine after a day of good reading.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

Self-referential, postmodernist yarn-telling. Except with a plot. And fun.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I think Zhang Yimou can make the decisions for that.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Borges: “Time forks, perpetually, into countless futures.”

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Let’s go ideally with being represented.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

The entire 2013. And then more.

8)What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I want to say it’s Borges territory with some Cloud Atlas globetrotting.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Jeanette Winterson’s The Stone Gods and JL Borges’ “The Garden of Forking Paths”,  Einstein, and Stephen Hawking.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

That it’s an attempt to make sense of a multiform universe as a metaphor for our own lives and the choices and “interventions” we make. An attempt.

I’m supposed to be tagging 5 other writers and getting them into the cycle as well but I’ve been so busy for the Christmas-New Year period that I haven’t gotten around to it. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

