New acceptance + new EP + launch gig

First off, it is always, always a good thing to get an email from Dean Alfar and Sarge Lacuesta that starts like this:

Dear Crystal,

I am pleased to inform you that your story, “Little Places”, has been accepted for publication in VOLUME One.

The publication is for VOLUME: An Anthology of Contemporary Fiction. I am totally psyched. Launch will be on September 2013!

Second, the EP of the band I’ve been playing regularly with for some time now (Cyrus Chow), is out! Fresh from the mixing studio in Sheung Wan and the record manufacturer in Kwun Tong is Rise. I was only a guest guitarist back then during recording so I only feature in one song, but the feeling of seeing your name in a CD jacket is still pretty amazing!

front

backbkletcd

The band will be selling it for 60 HKD a pop; I’m not sure how the distribution is yet but there’ll be more info coming from here, I’m guessing.

We’ll be playing for the launch gig tomorrow at Backstage in Central at 8pm. Our set will be about 40 minutes long and we’re sharing the event with Ping Loong, another musician who contributed to Rise and is launching his own album as well. I have a sizable group of friends coming over to watch and celebrate with me so I’m going to be sufficiently tired by the end of the night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

