I Just Won a Thing! + Shanghai Steam Mentioned in Orson Scott Card’s Book

topstory

So every year, the South China Morning Post and Radio Television Hong Kong host the Hong Kong Top Story Competition. I decided to join, and this year the theme is Celebration, 1.5k to 2k words short story. I pulled up a story I was working on before and had already sort of given up on, worked on it…and ended up deviating quite a bit from the theme (to me anyway) that I thought, This isn’t really going to get me anywhere far. Then I sent it out anyway.

Anyway, I got a call the past Thursday evening from RTHK 3…and apparently I’m one of the winners! They said they’d tell me which place I got on the award ceremony (there’s your usual 1st, 3nd, 3rd, and a Most Creative Award); I’m just glad I made it to the awards list of the most visible and regular English writing competition in Hong Kong. UPDATE: I won First Place!!

The award ceremony will be on December 18, 2013, 6-7pm, at Studio 1, RTHK Broadcasting House, 30 Broadcast Drive, Kowloon Tong.

Yay for going with your gut and somewhat deviating from the theme if you have to and sending it anyway!

fsfThe other thing!

Is that Shanghai Steam, the book that my story “The Master and the Guest” has appeared in, has been mentioned in the revised and updated version of Orson Scott Card’s Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, which includes added sections by Philip Athans and Jay Lake.

From page 146 of “Critical Reactions to Steampunk”:

A handful of editors and writers are tackling the issues of classism, racism, and imperialism head on, including independent Hades Publishing anthology Shanghai Steam (2012), which offers a Chinese view of the steam-punk world.

We’re also listed on page 150 in “Recommended Steampunk Reading” under the heading “Anthologies, Short Fiction and Miscellaneous.”

Lotta thanks to editors Ace, Calvin, and Renee for making all this possible and keeping us updated!

Leave a Reply

